Eumer Jones

Anybody ever heard of Eumer Jones?  I got an unsolicited email from a “Eumer Jones” interested in buying one of my sites just a few minutes ago.  I was just about to send a response when I decided to Google the name.

I was really surprised to find that eumer jones is actually in Google Suggest.  That leads me to believe that lots of people have Googled the name — yet there are no pages that match for that name and they’re using a Gmail account so that’s no help either.

Who else has gotten an email from Eumer Jones?

Comments


  • Peter

    November 16, 2010
    at 2:06 pm

    I say if he’s real, he’ll probably have strong follow-up skills.


     

  • Zaldy Dalisay

    November 19, 2010
    at 3:23 pm

    got the same email saying that he is interested in buying one of my arcade site, I don’t know the guy and I’m doing a background check right now but all I can find about the name is this article.


     

  • Shane

    November 20, 2010
    at 10:04 am

    Very interesting, Zaldy. I sent a genuine reply to Eumer (without giving up anything that wasn’t already publicly available) but have not yet heard back. Let us know if you hear anything!


     

  • Saidul

    November 20, 2010
    at 4:56 pm

    I got 2 email from him, and I replied but nothing back yet. If he doesn’t wanna but then why he sending us email ?


     

  • Shane

    November 20, 2010
    at 5:00 pm

    Great question.


     

  • Florin

    November 21, 2010
    at 10:15 am

    Lool!

    “Hello

    I came across your business in Google and I am wondering if you are
    interested in selling the website.

    I understand your business may be making you money and i would be
    willing to compensate you for this.

    If you have any interest in selling your business then do not hesitate
    to email me so we can discuss this further.

    Regards
    Eumer Jones”


     

  • Shane

    November 22, 2010
    at 1:16 pm

    That’s the exact same email I got, but I still haven’t gotten a response to my reply. Let us know if you do!


     

  • Steve Worswick

    November 25, 2010
    at 5:47 pm

    I got the exact same email offering to buy a quiz site I run. I googled the name and it led me here.


     

  • Anonymous

    November 25, 2010
    at 6:17 pm

    WHOEVER this is from is trying to trick you to get enough detail from you to spoof your account.

    If you have responded to the person. I would strongly advise you to put security on your domain names or use private registration.

    =====
    Hello

    I came across your business in Google and I am wondering if you are
    interested in selling the website.

    I understand your business may be making you money and i would be
    willing to compensate you for this.

    If you have any interest in selling your business then do not hesitate
    to email me so we can discuss this further.

    Regards
    Eumer Jones
    ========


     

  • kadir

    November 25, 2010
    at 7:21 pm

    Hi!
    1 hour ago I sent the same message. His e-mail address: eumerjones@gmail.com. At the same text written. I’ve written reply to him. Text message
    “I came across your business in Google and I am wondering if you are
    interested in selling the website.

    I understand your business may be making you money and i would be
    willing to compensate you for this.

    If you have any interest in selling your business then do not hesitate
    to email me so we can discuss this further.

    Regards
    Eumer Jones”


     

  • Danail Donchev

    November 26, 2010
    at 5:22 am

    I’ve got the same email. It looks like sc@m. The point is collecting active emails I gues


     

  • Paarth

    November 29, 2010
    at 10:34 am

    I just got the same email asking for my one of arcade website, I just google his email and found this only post link. So as no one got reply back so i think there is no need to send him response.


     

  • Shane

    November 29, 2010
    at 10:59 am

    It seems like a really terrible way to collect active email addresses. There are much more efficient methods. It also doesn’t seem like he’s trying to spoof the account or gather any meaningful details since he never responds to a reply. If he was trying to get as many details as possible, it seems like he would continue the ruse (ala the 419 scam).

    Still a mystery.


     

  • Tom Davies

    December 3, 2010
    at 1:34 pm

    I haven’t received this email, but I think it could be a great way to harvest website owner’s email addresses. The fact these people own websites makes the email list more powerful for spamming link requests or marketing etc. I know I’ve spent a lot of time trying to find out the contact information for various niches for promotion. This seems to be a shady way to automate that perhaps.

    Just a theory :)


     

  • Shane

    December 3, 2010
    at 1:40 pm

    Okay, let’s run with that theory. It’s definitely possible that he Googled a certain set of keywords, scraped the email addresses from the whois info of the sites that ranked, and then emailed those addresses. I haven’t started receiving spam to the address, but maybe he’s building the list for something else and/or to use later.

    For those of you who have gotten this email, did the email come to the email address in your whois information?


     

  • Miniclip

    December 4, 2010
    at 4:08 am

    I got this email yesterday as well, I run a gaming site as well.
    As I use a couple of Forums, I thought he may have come from there, but after Googling his name and finding this page, I’m guessing its fake.
    And yes, it was my Who-Is Email .


     

  • Daily Film Quote

    February 15, 2011
    at 4:50 pm

    I got the exact same message. I replied two days ago, saying I’d be happy to consider his offer, but haven’t heard back from him yet. It doesn’t sound like this guy is serious about buying websites.


     

  • Daily Film Quote

    February 15, 2011
    at 4:53 pm

    I forgot to add: my whois information is private, so he used a contact form on my site. He didn’t have my email address and now he does. Maybe that’s what he was after?


     

  • Shane

    February 15, 2011
    at 5:03 pm

    Possibly, but in most cases our email addresses were right in the whois. However, maybe he’s building a list of validated email addresses (i.e. much more reliable that what’s in the whois).


     

  • Nick

    March 7, 2011
    at 4:32 pm

    I’ joining the club :) ) Looks like this guy is a real mistery :)


     

  • Van

    March 7, 2011
    at 4:40 pm

    I got an email from him a few minutes ago inquiring about buying my website. I was about to respond but decided to Google his name first. Thanks for writing this article!


     

  • Shane

    March 7, 2011
    at 4:43 pm

    Two comments within 10 minutes of each other. Looks like he’s back at it :)


     

  • rohan

    March 7, 2011
    at 4:48 pm

    We told him he could have our website for $20 million and a box of beer but we haven’t heard back either


     

  • LoveLetters

    March 8, 2011
    at 6:06 am

    Same situation here.
    Did anyone get an answer back?
    I am subscribing to this question.


     

  • DailyFilm Quote

    March 8, 2011
    at 2:00 pm

    Just to follow up: no, I never got a reply from him. It’s been about three weeks, so I assume his interest in buying my site was fake.


     

Comment on This